Sardaukar

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been keeping FW tanks for several years and have had great success with planted aquariums. I would now like to try a SW Reef tank. I have a 180gal tank sitting in my garage and would like to use that aquarium. Is this too big for a first reef tank? For lighting i was planning on 3 250w MH 6500k Iwasaki bulbs and 4 96w Compact Flourescent lights. I would use a mixture of actinics and 10k bulbs with the 96w PC's. I will have a sump of some kind, not yet sure what size. I have not yet deceided on a particular skimmer either. Any suggestions?
The basic plan will be a modified Berlin system with about 1 lb of LR per gal, a 3"+ live sand bed and heavy skimming. How does all of this sound? After looking at chillers, i would like to be able to avoid having to use one. Does this setup sound like it would overheat and require a chiller? If so, what can I do to lessen heat? I know i asked alot of questions (
icon_razz.gif
) but thank you in advance!

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Sardaukar:
<STRONG>Is this too big for a first reef tank?</STRONG><HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually, ignoring money issues, larger tanks are more forgiving to new reefers.

Excellent choice for lighting. Some will argue for 400 watt MH, but 250 will work fine IMO. I prefer VHO over PC, but that's just personal preference.

In addition to the sump you might look into a stand-alone refugium before assigning all the under-the-stand space to the sump.

<STRONG>The basic plan will be a modified Berlin system with about 1 lb of LR per gal, a 3"+ live sand bed and heavy skimming. How does all of this sound?</STRONG>

Sounds great.
For cooling the tank look into having fans installed by your sump and in the hood. I am especially fond of temperature controlled fans or having the fans on the same cycle as the MH.