• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our saltwater aquarium community?
    JOIN NOW

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know it's been asked before, but haven't seen recent reports. To those who use Blueline Ballast (400W in particular), do they still cause interference?
Is the interference local, or house-wide?
What line filters are you using if they do?
Do the bulbs appear brighter/dimmer then with conventional ballasts?
Are they reliable (so far)?

Thanks for the input.

Jason Day

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Leonard,

I've been using a blueline ballast for about three months now and I really love it. Especially when you consider that it uses about 20% less electricity then a standard tar ballast.

Would recommend them.

jason
icon_smile.gif

murrayjim

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven't noticed any interference with my e-ballasts, and they have been very reliable. The only problem I had was they looked used when I got them(all scratched and corners bent), anyone have the same problem with Champion?
As far as the enery savings I have no personal proof but there is a little information on the blueline web site and also a review at this link.web page

Ninong

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sanjay,

On their website, the importer makes this statement: "Power savings 20% to 30% versus magnetic ballast." http://www.tbil.com/HID_Ballast/hid_ballast.html

I don't know if they have any testing data to substantiate their claim.

I know several people who have experienced both RFI and EMI with these ballasts. This is a quote from an e-mail I received from one hobbyist: