• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Dtown

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone,
This has probably been asked a hundred times, so please send links if the is a repeat.

I am new to reef tanks and have just been reading books/forums/etc... for the past month. I am now thoroughly confused on how t osetup a tank. I want to setup a reef tank in the 55-90 gallon range. I want to keep it to $1,000 +/- $150. I have read that a good skimmer is key and good lighting is key. Some use sumps, others do not. I currently have nothing at all for this tank. The $1,000 does not include live rock, fish(if any), etc... Can any of you experienced reef keepers lay out what a good system in this price range looks like. Even links to specific products would be awesome. I know this is asking a lot, but I am having a really hard time cutting through the clutter and different technologies. THANK YOU!

Also..I am handy and could build a stand and hood with a good set of plans.

trido

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Someone on this site once put a reef tank in terms of dollars per gallon to get set up. I believe his estimate was from $30-$50 a gallon. So, If you built a decent 55 gallon tank based on the $30 range you would end up spending near $1650. I have a bare bones 30 gallon that cost about $750. It is only capable of having low light corals. If you shop around and buy used lighting, skimmer, etc you can make you budget with a tank in the size range you desire.

LA-Lawman

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi!,

most of us can point you toward the good spots to get lights, skimmers, pumps, and such. You have to find the deal on the tank. most likely you will find a local fish shop with a tank you like. I buy the biggest tank i could afford in the budget i want to spend.