Craig2051

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I have recently decided to start a 75g reef aquarium. I am looking for advice regarding the best type of water to use when starting, amount of live rock needed, light recommendations for corals, and powerhead recommendations. All information will be helpful as this is my first attempt at starting a saltwater aquarium.

Thanks!

Reef Trends

www.reeftrends.com
Vendor
Rating - 100%
131   0   0
Is the 75 gallon reef ready meaning that it is drilled to drain to a sump below then have the water pumped back up? If using a sump a recommend a product called Cermedia which is a very porous fake rock. One 8x8x4 black will be enough surface area for bacteria to colonize and support your system. Meaning you can start out slow with live rock and add as you like and as budget allows. Also you will want some bacteria to start the cycle my favorite being Dr Tims One & Only Reef. For water use RODI (filtered) water it might be best to just invest in an RODI system and use brute trash cans to fill and mix your own salt water. Lighting probably LED or T5 but LED will be the best bang for the buck especially long term. Powerheads Vortech MP series or more budget minded Jebao. There is also a lot of equipment that gets posted here so you could score some good deals on used stuff.

Forgot to say WELCOME!

Spartanwarrior

Reefer Always Learning
Rating - 100%
91   0   0