• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

A

Anonymous

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-05/tt/index.htm

I think it's a blast! 30% of the list relates back to how hobbyists feel LFS employees are dumber than liverock. - Just think how many entries to the list were probably made with the same sentiment that didn't get put in the final list....

:lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad my profession isn't looked at as being that full of inept morons...

JennM

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
:roll:

Too bad we'll never see a top ten list of why LFS love hobbyists...

Like just yesterday I got a letter from a customer who bought fish at another store, they got ich, they lost half their fish (including the three they bought wherever) and blamed ME for it, because I was cleaning their tank every other week... the tank had been just fine until they added Typhoid Larry, Curley and Moe... and it all happened between my bi-weekly visits...

They were pissed because I didn't give them free medications or run right over to their house when they admitted they had a problem AFTER they tried to treat it themselves, unsuccessfully... Read: They were embarrassed that they screwed up and tried to cover it up and after they screwed it up beyond repair, THEN they called me to "fix it"... I wonder what the shop who sold them the fish, did for them?

Sure there are some LFS staffers/owners who need to learn a thing or two, but there are a hell of a lot more hobbyists who are ignorant. Ignorant hobbyists enable the ignorant stores to continue, because they support them.

Educated hobbyists raise the bar for everybody.

Don't even get me started on the "markup" complaints... I suppose they think that everybody on the chain of custody and everybody who provides a building and utilities should do it for their good health... for free :roll:

Jenn

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
JennM":27le8my3 said:
Don't even get me started on the "markup" complaints...
:lol: