• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

sk716

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,
I've been putting together a 10g reef for the last three months and I have a few questions since most organizations don't supply info for the nano tanks. I'm starting to develop hair algae, and the thing is, most hair algae eaters are not suitable for the nano environment, Yellow Tangs, Lawnmower Blennies, Manderin Gobies. I have a Turbo Snail, but he doesn't eat any of the green algae which is probably why it's starting to take over. I have had some interesting growths on my LR and I'm afraid the algae is stealing all the light and preventing the new growth from sprouting. I've already got 8 lbs of LR in the tank, I add it in stages so I have time to discover which hitchikers I've picked up. Also living in the tank currently are 2 bristleworms, one starfish arm, 2 yellow-tailed blue damsels, and once I saw what I think was a ghost shrimp. So my questions are: What can I get for a nano to eat the algae? Should I go to the trouble of trying to make a skimmer for a 10g? And what would be appropriate to encourage the growth on my LR?
Thanks for any help, I'm pretty new at reefing and although I read as much as I can I tend to find most of my questioned go unanswered.

brandon4291

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello sk716 and Welcome to reefs.org! I think you will find plenty of active and reliable advice on this particular site. Please check out this link to tons of algae-related info, and stick around here on our nano site for personal responses. http://www.reefs.org/library/

First of all, Id like to ask you a few things about your setup then we can begin to chip away at algae troubles.

1. How long was your setup set-up before fish were introduced?
2. Have you ever used skimmers, and if not what form of export/filtration are you using (cannister filters/floss/carbon etc)