drksails

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello my name is Abe Gutierrez and I am new to this hobby or should I say lifestyle, (4 months) I had a question about lighting for my 90 gal 48L x 18w x 24tall. I currently run 2 65 watt compact lights. I want to be able to keep corals that require intense lighting. I was curious if I need to replace the entire lighting system or urgrade the bulbs. I want to stay away from metal hylides. I was also curious about T3's or T5's. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Cordially, Abe Gutierrez

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
:welcome:

If you want to keep corals that require intense lighting, it's easiest to just get the most intense lighting available. :D

MHs are, watt for watt, the cheapest light source. You could cram your hood full of T3s or T5s, or you could just get 2 MH bulbs with reflectors. I like double ended MH pendants.

Just my 2 cents....

Justin74

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
drksails":1h2vphc0 said:
Hello my name is Abe Gutierrez and I am new to this hobby or should I say lifestyle, (4 months) I had a question about lighting for my 90 gal 48L x 18w x 24tall. I currently run 2 65 watt compact lights. I want to be able to keep corals that require intense lighting. I was curious if I need to replace the entire lighting system or urgrade the bulbs. I want to stay away from metal hylides. I was also curious about T3's or T5's. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Cordially, Abe Gutierrez