ireefny

Rating - 97.4%
37   1   0
hi guys,
Im in the market for a DSLR, trying to narrow my search between D40X,D60 & D80. I dont intend to get into another hobby, but simply want to invest on quality equipment that should prove to be very useful for our hobby, vacations/trips, kids & special events.

should I go for the lower D40X/D60 & spring for a better lense, or just bite the bullet on the D80.

Cameta Photos here on Long Island has some awsome prices posted on Ebay, like a D80 with lens 18-135 for $899, drops to the $750s with Nikon 18-55 lenses

the D40x&D60's run in the $600's with similar lenses.

note: if this post is in the wrong forum please move

medicineman

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was in the same boat last month. I decided on the D80 because it has the internal motor, allowing you to choose from a alot more lenses than the 60 or 40. it is slightly larger, but to me the 60 and 40 were too small. Once I started playing around, the depthof field preview became essential for shot composition as did the more numerous auto focus areas. A nice bonus is that the battery lasts 4-5 times as long.

Your instinct is right that lens matters more than body, but I do not intend to get another camera for some time and am happy with my decision

i picked up some used lenses @ B&H 18-55 and 55-200 VR and was given a number of primes from my sister. The 18-55 is actually reasonable for macro shots.

In the end, you will get amazing pictures with any of those cameras, so I wouldn't worry too much.

bad coffee

Inept at life.
Rating - 100%
27   0   0
Be careful of some of the 'cheap' camera shops. you're getting a 'grey market' camera, not a USA Warranty one. You'll have to send it to taiwan or china for repair if you get a grey one.

check out prices on www.bhphotovideo.com and see. When they have both USA and Grey you'll see the price difference. Grey versions are sometimes listed as "worldwide warranty"