thetman36

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
Big question. I am doing a 210 gal reef tank. It is an Aqueon duel center offset overflow drilled in the bottom. Tank measures 72X24X29 deep. My sump is a custom build Bashsea measures 36X14X16 the sump is not drilled to run an exterior pump. Will 1 mag drive 18 be enough to run this system and just split it for the return?

thirty6

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
229   0   0
will the sump be directly underneath the display tank, or will you plumb from your basement to display tank like some do? bunch of variables to consider and the distance from sump to tank is just one of them, each elbow also creates "head".
Also, if your going to run reactors off of the main pump you have to calculate that into the equation. im no expert, but was recently in similar situation with a build and these were the things i had to consider
will you have enough room in sump for a mag 18? what else will you keep in sump?

Last edited:

thetman36

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
ah good point ok the sump will sit under the DT i will be running a co2 reactor not connected to this and a gfo again not connected to this. the stand is 30 inches high and the distance to the top of the tank from the bottom of the stand where the sup sits is 54 and 1/2 inches

thirty6

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
229   0   0
so that pump pushes 1325gph/max 16' of head

i would think you would be fine with that pump. some suggest 10x flow, others suggest 5x flow i guess that becomes a personal preference like most other things in the hobby. i also remember a thread recently about some people swapping the metal screws in the mag pumps for plastic style help with corrossion issues. will you be using any powerheads for additional flow inside tank?

thetman36

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0