tunicata

Tunicate Tamer
Rating - 100%
163   0   0
Hi Y'all,
I am a beginner at trying to hook up RO/DI systems without the easy faucet hookup. I have researched but am only finding 3 or so options for water hook ups from all of the different types of RO/DI's. None of them work for me.

I live in a place with flexible tubing (threaded) for the sinks and through research understand that I cannot use the piercing valve.

I do have a washer/dryer installed (in a tiny closet that would not easily allow me to move anything), but cannot get to the water port and wouldn't know what to do with it if I did (if I broke something I would be responsible for fixing it...). So I cannot use the washer hook up option.

While my building has a waterhose/ spout on the outside but I cannot use that. It is on the 1st fl and I am on the 2nd floor. I am not going to lug 150gal of water up stairs.

So, what are my options??? All of the RO/DI's I see only have those 3 hook up options.

I am verging on just using tap water and then working hard to reduce phosphates over time. I mean, most of the people I see with RO/DI's still complain about phosphate levels and use tons of different reactors, chemicals and biological filtration. This suggests to me that ...RO/DI's combined with the nature of our tanks (feeding, living things, light, nitrogen, etc) may not be worth it.

So...thoughts?

IMG_20120425_194325.jpg

Last edited:

tunicata

Tunicate Tamer
Rating - 100%
163   0   0
Ah, sorry, I forgot to directly say that I cannot use the faucet attachment. It's some 'fancy' type of thing where I would need to essentially dismantle the sink to accomplish that.

I do not know how to split the line under my sink.