JP57

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, first I'd like to introduce myself to the group, my name is Jonathan, and I am brand new to all of this. I bought a 120 Gallon tank online. I am looking to make this work with the help of all of you.... I will try to be good about taking pictures as I build it.

I just put the water in, and I am in the process of adding the salt to it.

My question is, when should I add the sand/crushed coral? Which would you guys recommend?

Also, I have this running in the tank..Hydor Koralia Evolution 750/850 Aquarium Circulation Pump 750-850 GPH, is that enough or should I get another one?

Jonathan

KathyC

Rating - 100%
200   0   0
Welcome to MR :)

Crushed coral isn't usually advised as a substrate in a reef tank as too much detritus tends to collect in it. Most of us use sand. What type do you have?
Is there live rock in the tank? The rock (at least the bottom level) should be added prior to the sand as rock should never sit on top of the sand-bed as that leads to structure collapse :(
When adding sand to a tank with water in it, best to use a long (new & cleaned) funnel so you get the sand to the bottom without creating a sand storm. Also best to rinse the sand before use so you don't have all of the 'dust' circulating around in the tank. (do turn off the pumps before adding the sand!)

When first setting up the tank, it's ok to mix the salt in the tank (IF there is no live rock in there yet), but after this time, that is a major no - no! We mix our salt water in a separate container (typically a Brute garbage can) and add it to the tank.
What salt mix are you using?

In a 120 you would want at least 2 of those Evoluting pumps on opposite ends of the tank.

What are your plans for the tank..mixed reef, softies or SPS only?
What type of lighting do you have?
Do you have a skimmer yet & will the tank have a sump?

Last edited:

JP57

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0