BioMan

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
57   0   0
Hello,
My first post, I have been keeping a healthy 29 gallon BioCube for a few months and there are a few fish and sps coral in there. I have recently removed the bio balls and placed sand,crushed coral,live rock frags and an assortment of macroalgae. My question is will a UV sterilizer be useful to me?
Water parameters tested by me and my LFS have been consistantly good I have an ulltra fine white sandbed that gets algae. Also would this eliminate the need for snails? Why did they invent this thing?!?!

duromega

Fish Hoarder
Staff member
Rating - 100%
146   0   0
welcome to Manhattan reefs
welcome.gif

UV sterilizer kills floating bacterias
I won't defeat the purpose of a refugium
and it won't eliminate the need for snails

:wineglass

BioMan

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
57   0   0
Thanks Duromega,
Edd, I dont know if I did it correctly, but I turned off the pump, removed the bio balls from the middle chamber and stocked it with everything I listed above. I attempted to build a fuge. I hope I did.

edd

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
96   0   0
Thanks Duromega,
Edd, I dont know if I did it correctly, but I turned off the pump, removed the bio balls from the middle chamber and stocked it with everything I listed above. I attempted to build a fuge. I hope I did.

it sounds like you did it right. i assume you have a 3 section sump, skimmer, fuge and return.
i don't think many use uv myself included. hopefully someone who uses one will chime in.

KathyC

Rating - 100%
200   0   0
IMO UV lights aren't a good mix with SW tanks as they kill both good & bad bacteria, while we all work towards developing bacteria in our tanks, especially in the first year the tank is set up.

What water parameters is your LFS testing for you? (you really should have your own kits)