Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Hi Manhattan Reefers :
I am new to saltwater tank and have setup my Biocube 29 for 11 months.
All my fish and corals are doing great.
I have been using Prime to mix my saltwater. In the last two months it starts to have some cyano and green algae. ( Not too much, just a little here and there)
I purchase a BRS GFO last month and it didn't help much.
I finally purchase a BRS RO/DI system couple of days ago.
Do a 75% water change and siphon the sand bed two days ago. Today i notice on the side of the tank, some spot on the live rock turn bright white. Looks like when i cycle my live rock.
Normal or do i need to do something ?
Nitrate is 0 (Been around 20-30 for several month, down to 0 after i use Instant Ocean Nitrate Reducer for 2 Months)

Attachments

• rock-1.jpg
    rock-1.jpg
    68.1 KB · Views: 209
  • rock-2.jpg
    rock-2.jpg
    77.8 KB · Views: 204
  • rock-3.jpg
    rock-3.jpg
    77.4 KB · Views: 203

reefer4eva

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
282   0   0
Cyano is a bacteria not algae.it usually develops in low flow areas and thrives off dead matter(dead pods,dead bacteria,die off from the rocks etc..etc..)I think it could have happened from a couple of things. To start using tap water contains alot of phosphates and harsh metal,clorine,Floride (all these things can kill good bacteria ..since you now have an Rodi filter keep doing waterchanges,add more flow to the tank and add more of a clean up crew (snails,crabs) fight bad bacteria with good bacteria. .I'm not sure if you add anything to the tank but I would recommend Special Blend most petstores carry it .good luck and let us know how it goes...good or bad :)

Last edited:

Marcellina

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
19   0   0
My rocks look like that after my huge turbo or sea urchin have passed over it.

Do you remember what was on the white area before? Was is coralline or cyano?