Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am a new member. I have a lot of experience keeping fresh water fish but I would really like to get into saltwater fish keeping/corals and inverts. I apologize in advance for the million questions I will be asking. I currently have a 36 gallon bowfront with 2 Marineland HOB penguin 280s. I was wondering If I could convert this tank to saltwater with some equipment changes. The LFS tried selling me a HOB refugium/protein skimmer but it seemed really small, it was quite expensive and I was worried about how effective it would be. Is a 36 gallon too small? My tank is not drilled, would that be a problem? Should I invest in a bigger tank and if so 75 vs 90? I am trying to do this in the most cost effective way possible because I don't have a ton of money to spend. Can I use tap water or do I need an RO/DI thingamajig (I have a vague idea about how that works). Refugium or wet and dry? I have done quite a bit of research but I still feel like I don't have a complete picture. As far as I know I need: Live sand, Live rock (pound per gallon), refugium, protein skimmer, some serious lighting, test kits, salt, water (I assume I can't use regular tap water and water conditioner). Any advice on specific equipment I might need or which brand names to use for refugium, filter, protein skimmer, etc... I will do more research on coral types and fish later on but for right now I would just like to get a tank started the right way.

Rating - 100%
11   0   0
Go as big as possible.. Sure u could find a set up for dirt cheap here on mr.. U going in the right direction on asking questions which u could Prob find
Out on Google on your own but better two answers then one.. The 36 is a bit small but I seen plenty of people with smaller tanks that r happy with what they have so its what u like.. The more water volume the easyier it is to stablize water and more stuff which in this hobby could never have to much.. Good luck

thirty6

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%