• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

wise guy

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi i am somewhat new to marine reefs. i owed a 55 gallon freshawater, and my brother owed a 90gal salt water reef wich i help with. i am buying a 130 gallon 6 foot tank, it has a eheim 2228 pro filter, sand filter and 302 power head. and sponge filter i belive being run by the power head. glass top and only 2 florence lights.
what do you ppl think of this setup.
130 gal tank, 2-802 power heads running ugf, ehiem 2228 filter(running sand filter) 302 power head running sponge filter, AquaC Remora or Remora Pro skimmer(insight here please) crush coral base,

also help here, i think i want 2-3 metal halide, with 2 atinic blue vho flource(do they come in 6 foot??) where do you buy them that they will be reasonably priced.

give me any comments or ideas that you might have, thanks a lot.
oh and estimated price cause i am thinking about 1500-2000$ before fish and live rock, ect.

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
rdo_welcome.gif

I wouldn't use a UGF filter. It is an outdated filtration system that doesn't have a place for marine aquariums. You can use the 802 powerheads for circulation only.

As for the ehiems, they're fine canister filters. However, I would recommend you set the tank up with a sump. A sump is simply a body of water usually below the tank used to hold equipment. You siphon/overflow water from the main tank to the sump then pump it back up via a return pump. The benefits of a sump is:
1) you have a place to place a larger skimmer in. A hang-on back AquaC really is not sufficient for a 130 gallon.
2) A sump adds water volume to the tank, and that is always a plus.
3) You have room to add other equipment in the future, like calcium reactors, probes, heaters, etc.