chunchma

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have a 58 gallon tank and now I have about 80 pounds of live rock.

So could I do 5 small-med fish and what about cleaner crew do they take up much real estate in a fish tank?

wyw

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are you looking to do with the tank? Are you planning on having corals? If so, softies LPS or SPS or a mix? I'm not a fish expert but I bet they will also want to know what type of fish you are thinking of. Some are messy eaters others are not.

ChrisRD

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are definitely combinations of 5 small-medium fish that will work in a tank that size. It's best to plan the fish list in advance. The above questions are good ones - what do you want to keep in this tank long-term (ie. what types of corals, inverts, etc.) as this will effect fish choices.

How long has the tank been setup?

chunchma

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was thinking of some shrimps and not sure whatelse in the cleaner crew area. Fish I would like to keep a clown fish or a pair, sleeper head gobies, flame angel, Fridmani Pseudochromis.

Corals I am not sure about something that is good for begginers.

Any thoughts?

ChrisRD

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For a clean-up crew I prefer a variety of snails + the normal population of pods/worms/snails that come-in on the the live rock. Some like hermits as well, but I'm not a big fan (little troublemakers IME).

As for fish...

A pair of clowns and the P. fridmani (or a pair) are good, reef safe choices. Several types of clowns and the fridmanis are available captive raised and very hardy.