jahorgos

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the salt water hobby. I recently purchased a 120 gallon tank that is roughly 24in deep and 6 feet wide. Soon I will be looking to purchase around 150lbs of live rock. I want my tank to eventually house several types of LPS and SPS.

The question is what type of live rock should I buy? Should I buy all of one type of rock? or several? What type of benefits are there to premium rock vs. other? Where can I get the best deals for this large purchase?

I had planned to spend about $800.00 But I'm not afraid to spend more if its worth it.

As for lighting I have 3 250W MH bulbs at 10K and 2 actnics <- if this is any concern to what type of rock I purchase.

Thanks!

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What kind of rock you want is all personal preference. I am partial to marshall island rock. I love the shapes and colors. But it's also harder to come by and more expensive. Fiji is the stand by. It's plentiful and relatively cheap. I happen to also like tonga branch rock, but it's hard to aquascape a tank meant for corals that will work to the corals advantage with it.

If I were you, I would go to a place that offered several kinds of rock and I would buy the pieces with the shapes that interested me most. Also, I would probably invest in tanked base rock for the main structure of the tank and then pay attention to premium pieces to top off the structure with. The middle of the structure probably won't be seen anyway so I wouldn't spend a ton of money on premium rock for that.

HTH

toastii

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
there are several places to order it online--

petsolutions
premium aquatics is another good place it looks like at least- no personal experience
umm there are tons other-- check the prices at you LFS

ufotofu

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0