coral_beauty

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone :D ,

As you can see this is my first post so I wanted to use it for the thing that is bothering me the most... canister filters vs sumps!

I am relatively new to the hobby so I've been doing a lot of reading. Most things I've read have detailed the benefits of canisters/sumps, rather than the downside to each. So, I guess I'm asking why WOULDN'T I choose one or the other? Which is more difficult with regards to maintenance etc? I like the idea of a sump to hide equipment etc but I'm worried about excessive evaporation wrecking my cabinet and constant maintanence (topping it up).

I dont know if it helps, but I have a 3ft 200L (~50g) reef setup that I bought complete with fish and live rock - so I haven't had to do much to the tank (except add a chiller and protein skimmer!!!). It is running the initial canister filter that came with it, but since its old and needs replacing soon I thought now was a good time to find out the answer to the eternal filtration question: sump or canister?

shavo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
well you can use a canister filter, however you have to constantly clean it. As it is working and picking up food and crap and stuff that stuff gets trapped in the canister filter and starts to produce nitrates. I wouldn't use one personally on a salt tank because I don't have time for filter cleaning. but my oscar tank it's fine for. I have had a DIY refugium going and it is basically maintenance free and all I have to do is top offs and water changes.

The sump idea is also better for more water volume as you have more room for mistakes or problems.

You will have evaporation either way and always need to top off. I think that topping off a tank is much easier than cleaning a canister filter weekly. you can try to cover everything real good.

Hope this helps.

TheJGMProject

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0