ThomasPowers

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK...this may be a dream or a nightmare.

I have 20+ years experience with FOWLR marine setups. So I'm good with cycling, live rock, waiting months to get water right, etc.

My question is equipment and reef keeping.

I have had up to 55gals in the past...but the new area will take 72"x30"deepx26" high so we are in the 150+ gallon range now... anything bigger will not fit through the door to get it in the house. I am now out of my comfort zone.

It is going in it's own enclosed room, with it's own power, 7' ceiling, and a floor drain.

Question 1 - Glass or acryllic? I know the pros and cons of each...but when you get that big...I question which is better since most real big tanks are acryllic.
Question 2 - Since I'm ordering the tank...I assume we will want to sump this. So that begs the question of getting a drilled tank or using a siphon overflow. Ideas? Anyone have any good resources on where to order such a tank?
Question 3 - What to use for a sump/wet dry system. I have read a lot on people building their own...and I'm not comfortable with this not having done reef and sump setups before. All my filtration experience is HOT and canister filters..so this is foreign. I'm looking for a sump/wet/dry system that will pair nicely with the tank and the overflow from question 2
Question 3 - metal halide lights seem to be the way to go...but how high above the tank should they be and how big does one go? Any cooling ideas?
Question 4 - There appears to be wave generators that stick on with magnetics...so placement can be precise and there's no extra drilling. These look good...any ideas on placements?
Question 5 - what else will I need? Chillers, reverse osmosis, V sterilizers...etc Some of it may or may not be goo for reef.