Status
Not open for further replies.

Chiefmcfuz

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
47   0   0
This thread is for anyone to post a reefing help question. If you have reefing Q post it here and we will try to get it answered as quick as possible. So fire away.

Feel free to link articles and other threads but also with those links please include a brief summary of what the link is or why you are posting that link.

Please keep this serious as it might help someone with a problem that they are having and may even help them.

thewolfguy

shadow member
Rating - 92.3%
24   2   0
New to Reefs

Hello there: I am new to the reef hobby, but have been doing fresh water and brackish water as well as some salt water aquariums for a long time now. I just recently purchased a 75 gallon salt water setup from someone. In this setup he included the live sand on the bottom, about an inch of the existing water and 40 pounds of live rock. I did not have the live rock submerged but kept it wet for about 2 days while I set up the aquarium. The rock does not seem any black slime on it from death, nor does it have any odors, so I think I am safe with that. I just now finished setting up the aquarium. The lighting system is a HO T5 2x52 watt (one bulb is blue, one bulb is white), a Amircale wet/dry filter and a protein skimmer. I checked to make sure the specific gravity was fine and it is. I got the wet/dry working fine. In the wet/dry, I did not put in the bio balls because I heard it traps nitrates. I also did not put in any chelicals in the chemical trap, but did put the sponge down by there chemical trap to catch the debris. One of my questions is since this is going to be a reef tank can I add live sand and some live rock in the sump area to make it a refugeum, or do I add it to the area where the bio balls where supposed to be? I do not really want to build a separate refugeum if I do not have to. Here is a link to what the wet/dry setup is supposed to look like. I am also getting 80 o