dOobs24

new to this addiction
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, my lfs told me about MR a couple of weeks back and I have been quietly enjoying all the info and discussion on here, but today is my first post.

*Disclaimer* I am a beginner at this.

I have a 30g reef tank with hand me down, mix and match, cheap hang on filters and old lighting i bought from my lfs. It has been running moderately well (just got over a red slime outbreak) for about 4 months and I'm thinking about converting an old 20g tank I had laying around into a refugium.

First and foremost, I have been searching on here and the internet in general for more info on DIY Refugium, but being a newbie, it appears that there are various ways to build one and I don't know what is best for my setup.

Ultimately, I would like to scrap the three filters I currently have running (Skilter, small fluval and an aquaclear) in exchange for my homemade 20g fuge, a skimmer(built in if possible) and a powerhead for flow in my tank. I'm hoping one of you out there could point me in the right direction.

There are tons of questions that come up, being a beginner and building it yourself but mainly:
1. How much water flow should I be shooting for through my fuge?
2. Should I use/do i need bio balls or rock rubble?
3. Will this 20g fuge work for a 90g tank if I upgrade in the future?
4. Suggestions on Pump and Sump(i think thats what its called, the piece that will hang on my main tank)?

Thanks in advance for your help or just taking the time to read my post.

Killerdrgn

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
22   0   0
4. Suggestions on Pump and Sump(i think thats what its called, the piece that will hang on my main tank)?

Welcome!

1. Is your main tank drilled? if it is then use the tank as a sump and get a good skimmer.
2. No
3. Yes and no, You could use the 20 gallon tank as a sump/fuge for a 90 but it may be too small to support a 90.