polecat

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
i have a 90 gallon rr tank i just set up i have a 2" live sand bed and about 100 pounds of live rock the tank is still cycling i have a nova extreme pro high output t5 lighting system it has 2 switches 1 switch has 2 actinic bulbs and the other has 3 10k lamps and 1 actinic it is going to be a reef tank with fish how long should i leave the lights on for? i am a beginner so i am going to get some easy corals like zoas

NYReefer

GOT FRAGS??
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
I assume its just rock and sand in the tank?? If so there is really no need for the light right now because it will just fuel aglae growth.. you will most likely have some cyano which grows on the sandbed when u start using the lights.. How long has the tank been setup and do u have testkits and such? I believe i started using the lights about a week or 2 before the cycle was done and I added my cleanup crew and it wasnt for very long 3-4 hrs... now my light cycle is from 1pm to 12 and i have moonlights for nighttime..
Best of luck to you on your new money pit...cough cough i mean tank :splitspin
Remember to be very patient and add things slowly to the tank.. have you looked into a QT tank for the fish??
Sure some others will give their opinions..

polecat

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
yes i have all the test kits and i have a qt tank i have a 65 gallon fowlr for about 5 years i want to do a reef with the new 90 gal. it is up since march 11 2009 i leave the 10k lights on from 10 am to 7 pm and the actinic 1 hour before and 1 hour after .is that to long?

NYReefer

GOT FRAGS??
Rating - 100%
10   0   0