Marcellina

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
19   0   0
I dont know if this is a dumb question :iamwithst

I have read so many posts ad useful articles on here about the benefits of having a QT tank and it sounds like it really is a must. I would like to get one that fits under my DT in the cabinet area. Is there a size limit for a QT tank? And can it be created while my tank is cycling? Just wondering, if yes can I get some coral to keep in there until my tank is stabilized? I am assuming it would require a filter and pump?
unsure.gif

And the same with a refugium. How small a tank can it be and what is needed for it? - I would love to have one of these with some chaeto algae and other beneficial algaes etc
anyone.gif

By the way if you havent guessed i'm new to Saltwater Tanks. I started cycling my 29G BioCube 6 days ago. I have 40lbs of LS and about 31lbs of LR (do I need a little more LR I dont want to overcrowd).
My Levels from today are:
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 5
High Range PH: 7.8
Ammonia: 8

Also I am located in Long Island NY and would love to know if there are and SW or Reefer Clubs around this area for future frag and fish trades etc.

h2o

Wanna be clown fish pimp
Rating - 100%
98   0   0
No coral slow down a bit first get your DT set up and cycled . what kind of equipment are u using?, skimmer, lights,etc . how big is your sump and how much room you got in it usually a section of your sump is your refugium , some pics of your set up would help .

seascape

Acan Crazy
Rating - 100%
68   0   0
slow down DT first you're not ready for that yet,you will regret rushing you will end up spending more money rushing and killing corals that dont need to be.

masterswimmer

Old School Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 99.6%
448   2   0
Greetings Marcella and welcome to Manhattan Reefs. You ask some good questions and hopefully you'll continue asking them. No, none of your questions are dumb.