jcolon2

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
22   0   0
Hello Everyone! I am new to the hobby. I have had freshwater tanks in the past however; this is my first saltwater tank. I have done a lot of research in the process.

I purchased for 40 dollars a tank setup however, the tank is only 20 gallons (I purchased it via craigslist). It is a 20 gallon high tank, with an oak stand. The tank has a Bak Pak 2 protein skimmer, a Whisperer EX 30 filter, an air filter with the air stone attached, and 20 lbs of live rock for filtration.

I have actinic lighting (although, I am embarrassed to say how little wattage I have). : /

Inside the tank I also have a 100w tetra fin heater, a mini hydrometer, a thermoter (which always has a reading of 78 degrees), approx. 1.5 inches of live sand, and instant ocean salt (current level at 1.023). I initially used tap water and dechlorinated it. Since then, I have been performing a 10 percent water change (2 gallons) every Wednesday with bottled water.

The nitrates, nitrtites and ammonia are perfect. The tank cycled for one month before I purchased my first fish. I allow all the specimens to properly acclimate.

I purchased a false percula clown. I then purchased a pulsing xenia frag (which is growing very fast), 3 lunar eclipse zoo polyps (they are doing well), a spider vein paly (which is losing some of the green color), an orange eye chalice (which I hate to say is doing poorly) and 4 acan heads (which are doing well). Every morning I give them Kent marine purple tech. My rock now has coraline growing nicely on it.