johnsonlee42

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
26   0   0
Hey guys, hope you're doing well. I wanted to get a bit of advice - hopefully, all of you with infinite wisdom can help me out. :p

I just got a Glass Cages tank made for me, with an internal overflow - now I need help figuring how to actually set up the plumbing, with which I have had very little experience (little = none, fail). I already have a sump that I am ready to hook the tank up to (thanks to Jeff for making this for me!), and I am probably going to go to go to home depot to figure out all the appropriate fittings for that. Where I would definitely any appreciate any guidance is on the setup of the internal overflow itself.

The Glass Cages overflow is very straightforward - it is a glass overflow with an acrylic cover, and I had them drill a 1" bulkhead drain and a 3/4" bulkhead for the return. My tank is 30 gallons. Both bulkheads are threaded at both ends.
For the drain line I'm thinking of getting a durso standpipe (e.g. this one here http://bit.ly/cqF8Hz) - thoughts on this? Would this be recommended for the drain, in order to reduce noise? I'm probably going to get the strainer that fits this too - don't want snails to crawl into my standpipe somehow.