DrMusik

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
Hi! I'm new to this forum and, well, to saltwater fish in general. Just moved to NYC and got rid of all my freshwater fish and needed something to do that was a little more compact so I decided to start a saltwater Nano Tank. After tons of research (and measurements) I went with a 10 gallon tank. I know its small but it's all I can afford and I'm a medical student so I thought dealing with all the chemistry would be kinda fun.

I bought my Live Rock from a guy on craigslist for a steep discount from what the LFS was offering. Just two days into my cycle now and I've noticed a lot (5 or so) of brown-orange worms crawling through the live rock at night. I've read a bunch of stuff online saying they were bristle worms. About half the people say they are terrible and the other half say they are the best thing for your tank. Any advice? Thanks.

JimmyR1rider

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Bristleworms are good- how ever many you see times that by many- they are good to have as long as they dont get too big. If they get real big then you want to remove them, but they will help clean the tank. Not to worry I was nervous about them too when I first saw them- another good worm not to worry about if you see any is the spaghetti worm youll see reddish hairs coming from your rock and/or sand they are good filter feeders and are harmless. Good luck with your saltwater endeveur and welcome to MR- a lot of great people on here to help out and to chat with.....Jimmy

Last edited:

SevTT

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
I've read a bunch of stuff online saying they were bristle worms. About half the people say they are terrible and the other half say they are the best thing for your tank. Any advice? Thanks.

Practically all bristle worms are good. They're excellent detrivores and generally don't bother anything that's not dead or so close to death it doesn't have a chance anyway.

cisco1717

Advanced Reefer