• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our saltwater aquarium community?
    JOIN NOW

justin howley

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
Hi all, noob here. First my background and stats...I have a Fluval Edge cycled, 6 weeks old. Have active sand, 5lbs of live rock, a green chromis (added at 4 weeks) three headed frog spawn, hammer coral, purple zoo colony and a peppermint shrimp. All are thriving, tank stats are all ideal salinity at 1.026, temp at 77 degrees, using 24 watt T5 about 5 inches above the top of the tank.

I bought a Blue Star, I wanted one really bad. I acclimated him by the book for 2 hrs because I knew of its sensitivity. I had him in the tank for 6 days. He was active for 5 of those days. Two days ago I noticed a small brown algae bloom. The Star crawled behind a rock out of the direct light and hung out there for a day. Now he is limp and his limbs have all drooped. He is barley holding on to the rock. A few of his feet move every so often but he looks bad. The Shrimp is waiting next to him, probably to eat him.

Is he a lost cause? What could of causes his death? My frogspawn has grown since I got it, and everything else looks good.

Joker4132

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
Am sorry to say but it looks like lights out for ya buddy. Those stars need a very large, mature, stable tank and even with that sometimes do not do so well. For a 6 gallon tank you have, it is very hard to next to impossible to keep all para's extremely stable required for your star and that doesnt even sttart with the feeding requirement. The only chance that star has of making it is in another tank.

Imbarrie

PADI Dive Inst
Rating - 100%
61   0   0
Make sure to research all your purchases from multiple sources before you buy them. Not going to be the coral cop because a lot of us have been there before.

Just because one thing appears to be doing well does not mean you have a healthy tank.

justin howley

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%