shaun11423

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hello my name is Shaun and im the local area of queeens, NY, i started my new FOWR- fish only with rock tank for about two months now, i go to the LFS which is fish town off of northern, i am new to the hobby and i am doing alot pf research online, videos and books, but i could use some more insight into this hobby.

FOWR- why not FOWLR because the rock i got was once LR but has been kept out of water for a couple of months and now it is dead, i got it for a cheap price and i am on a budget. So i read around that once its dead it will grow back after some long extended time, true or false, not sure my LFS says no i think yes.

Tank is a 30 gallon long with 30 pounds of soon to be LR, a clown, two turbo snails and a fire fish.

i have a 30 gallon canister filter yes 30 gallon canister filter, i dont have the horizontal surface space to keep a sump, but i do have a 20 gallon sump that i have not in use, give me your opinion on that, it has 3 yards of filter media and over 200+ bio balls.

75watt marine-land heater
UV- setup
Amiracle protein skimmer
mag 5 or 7 not sure, got it used with no tag on it
overflow
three aqua clear 301 pwhead
36" T5 Light HO Aquarium Marine Reef Cichlid 156W Lunar

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290484309470&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

diatom filter
http://www.thatpetplace.com/pet/prod/205461/product.web?gdftrk=gdfV2226_a_7c268_a_7c713_a_7c205461

OKay i use the api tap water filter
most of my products are API including the test kits

-Supplements used
kent buffer
purple up
Kent Iodide
kent calcium power

Water and tank parameters
Temp, 78-80, soon it will be constant but my T5 get to hot- putting some fans on
Salinity, 1.020- Brand sea test i know its low soon to be corrected dont kill me on that
All API in red
PH, 8.2
Calcium- 360
Ammonia-0 ppm - .25 hard to tell more to 0 ppm
Nitrite- 0 ppm
Nitrate-0 ppm

Magnesium- i dont have test kit yet