cdamiano

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
154   0   0
I have been dosing for a few years now and have had good results with it. I started out by following the article referenced above. Now I only dose every few days. My suggestions are to start out with a lower than recommended dosage and then slowly ramp it up over time. Once you notice your nitrates are at the desired level, then cut back a little until you find what maintenance dose you need to keep nitrates in check.

Jkedra

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I dont know if you guys are familiar with sugar dosing? Its most common during the nitrogen cycle...just so the bacteria can feed off of it and also reproduce at a much faster rate.

James

Zen-Reefer
Rating - 100%
112   0   0
Why is vit c more forgiving
you have to measure both out
before dosing

Yes you have to measure both out, with sodium absorbate you can miss doses, mess up the measurement a bit and the tank won't crash (this is not to say it is a good idea) but from what I understand with vodka this can cause more serious damage to your tank. Both are adding carbon which in turn creates bacteria blooms which need to be skimmed out but after reading this thread in its entirety

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1252294

I decided to go with vitamin c and am very happy with the results. Just my opinion, there are tons of people who successfully dose with vodka but I felt and feel more comfortable with the vit. c. THat thread I linked is the best source of info I have found on it (got it from a link on MR and my boy smoq). I will stick to dosing vodka and scotch for myself and vitamin c for my reef. :) HTH

James

James

Zen-Reefer
Rating - 100%
112   0   0