Dragonet_Dude

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Everyone, I am new to Reefs.org, but Have been or Reef Central for a While now. I would like you guys to get to know me better, and I think this is how I will tell you my Story. :D I wanted SPS only to find out that they need a large amount of light. being 13, I could neither afford or support those huge Metal Halides. I wanted to try LPS, but they also needed a large amount of light. Plus, everyone has SPS or LPS. I wanted something different. Something interesting to look at, but not needing a huge amount of light. Then, I found my answer. Something inexpensive, fun to watch, not needing a huge amount of light, and providing some degree of challenge: Soft corals, Gorgonians and Nonzooxanthellate invertebrates. A couple of months ago, i started my project. I had asked my father to build me a custom NO flourescent fixture. It has four bulbs; 2 Marine-Glo Actinics, and 2 10'000K Power Glo lights. Ballasts were store bought, wire were store bought, and so was everything else, except the Canopy itself, which was actually a used metal halide canopy at one point. It was a great canopy, aluminum, stain proof, and with an acrylic shield. Then, the construction began. I have watched my father working several times and helped him out when he needed it. I do not know how to explain all the "technical stuff", but here are some pics.The light has a reflector, so you cannot see the wires, those pics are without the reflector on.

DSCN0972.jpg

DSCN0971.jpg

I really thank my dad for making this project possible.
The current occupants of this system are as follows:

1 Orange Gorgonian (Heavily Spot Fed)
2 Colonies of Tubastrea Sun Polyps. (Fed Every Day)
1 Hawaiian Feather Duster Worm
1 Small frag of Zoanthis which are Brown with Orange Centres.
1 Colony of Green Rhondactis Mushrooms.
3 Small Green Hairy Mushrooms
1 Large Green Hairy Mushroom
3 Pink Bubble Hairy Mushrooms
1 Purple Spotted Mushroom Frag
and a Small FInger Leather.