• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

IamRobG

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i started making the transition from the 58 bow front to the 125. So far i have about 80Lbs of rock and 2 tiny frags. All the fish are the same except I added a few more damsels. Here are the updates so far. Just so you all know i am trying an experiment here that most would not agree with.

I have the Fluval FX5 canister i'm running with this along with the Coralife 125 Protein skimmer. In the canister sections i have Carbon, Clearmax (to reduce nitrates and phosphates), and live rock frags for some more bio filtration. So far its been only 3 days and the levels are all where they should be, Ammonia-0, Nitrates-0, PH 8.1, Temp 79. I'll keep everyone posted on my progress.

<--Just started waking up from the transition from the store.

<--He's awake now. And what's the name of the frag behind it? I can't remember. I'm new to the whole coral thing

More progress to come.

kenny2064

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
lol i have the same equipment i have not set it up yet though how is it going so far keep me updated...i have the same tank and exactly the same equipment...also what lights are those you have i have found it is pretty hard to get lighting for this 125g tank they look like marineland double led or are they the reef ready ones

IamRobG

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
UPDATE!

So far its been over a week and everything is going well. Skimmer is pulling out the usual nasty gunk and i opened up my canister and found almost no detritus material or decay. Cleaned it out, added clearmax (nitrate and phosphate reducer) on levels 1 & 2, level 3 is filled with live rock and crushed coral from my 58 Gallon. I have the foam filter elements on the outside. Levels are as follows.

Ammonia-.1
Nitrates-.25
Nitrites-0
PH-8.3
Calcium-440
Temp-79