rkaragozler

Newbiee 4 Ever
Rating - 100%
125   0   0
I have been using Driveway Heat for over 2 years now, without any problems to control my calcium levels. Well I ran out of my old bottles and purchased new ones at a local gas station. I used 1- 9.5 Lb jug and noticed that my alk readings in my tank had dropped, but calcium levels were stable. My normal alk level is 9.0dkh, and after using the new jug it had dropped to 4.7dkh. I did not notice any change in my coral what so ever, and I was puzzled as was some of my other friends.
I had 3 other people test my water using different test kits and they were all very close to my readings. After doing some research and talking to a very famous vendor, I found out that the new jugs contain Calcium Bromide (CaBr2). Well it turns out that when they added this chemical to their mixture, it would give us false readings for Alk levels.
Here are the msds sheets from the Product.

PRESTONE DRIVEWAY HEAT MSDSP332
11-01-1999
CALCIUM CHLORIDE 10042-52-4 >90.0%-<100.0%
NON-HAZARDOUS INGREDIENTS 1%
WATER 7732-18-5
SODIUM CHLORIDE 7647-40-7
POTASSIUM CHLORIDE 74447-40-7
STRONTIUM CHLORIDE 10476-85-4

PRESTONE DRIVEWAY HEAT MSDS324
1-10-2007
CALCIUM CHLORIDE 10043-52-4 >90.0%-<92.0%
WATER 7732-18-5 >4.0%-<6.0%
POTASSIUM CHLORIDE 7447-40-7 >2.0%-<3.0%
SODIUM CHLORIDE 7647-14-5 >1.0%-<2.0%

PRESTONE DRIVEWAY HEAT MSDS 48005
7-14-2009
CALCIUM CHLORIDE 10043-52-4 >90.0%-<92.0%
POTASSIUM CHLORIDE 7447-40-7 >2.0%-<3.0%
WATER 7732-18-5 >4.0%-<6.0%
SODIUM CHLORIDE 7647-14-5 >1.0%-<2.0%
CALCIUM BROMIDE(CaBr2) 7789-41-5 <1.0%

Has any one else noticed this problem?
I am now buying the right chemicals to add to my tank, I have to pay more but I think the value of my stock is more important.

Boomer

Bomb Technician (EOD)
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First, all of you here are out of line so knock it off. And all of you are ill informed.

rkaragozler