Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi
I'm new to reefing and have a question concerning filters. I am planning on using a 40 gal breeder as my starter with a canister filter. However, I see a lot of setups that incorporate the use of an refugium for the protein skimmer, added filtration and sump pump. Does the sump pump unit have filtration capablility? Is it possible to enhance the refugium so that it serves as a primary filter as well, bypassing the need for the canister filter? Thanks for any help.

hclaveria

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
I started my 55g with a canister filter knowing that I would eventually have to incorporate the sump into the system and remove the canister. But I was on a budget so I used what I had.

So, while I was cycling the tank, I used the canister as my filtration and water circulation. I only used bio-balls and Chemi-pure inside the canister. Foam or other filtration is not necessary since you are trying to start the bio-chemical filtration.

After my tank cycled, I removed the canister and put in the sump to run as my main filtration. The sump has the filter socks for mechanical filtration, the Protein Skimmer, a refuge with a deep sand bed and some rocks, and the return with the pump. The pump is just a pump to return the water, it is not a filter.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
is bioballs better to use or ceramic tubules? Idealistically, how should a refugium look? I'm planning on buying an eshopps protein skimmer. Is it a good brand to use? And for the sump pump what brand and models are recommended for a 40 gallon breeder? I thank everyone that is answering my questions.

Rating - 100%
10   0   0