JKNYC

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I'm new to keeping saltwater tanks and looking for some advice on reducing the phosphate levels in my tank.

A little background about my tank. I received this tank, a 72gallon bowfront from someone back in Feb. The tank was badly neglected as you can see in the pictures below. I know for a fact that it wasn't maintained for at least 6 months prior to me getting the tank.

I've spent the last several months cleaning the tank and slowly adding fish. I have about 50 hermit crabs, 5 Mexican turbo snails, 3 clownfish, 2 banghai cardinals, 2 pj cardinals, 1 purple tang, 1 coral beauty, and 1 goby that was with the tank when I got it. How he survived, I have no idea. I was given an AquaC 120-EV with the tank but don't think I have been able to get that set up to skim properly. I have replaced that with a Reef Octopus Classic 110-INT. I have also just added a UV Sterilizer.

I was looking to add corals to my tank and read that phosphates are bad for keeping corals so I began testing and found the levels to be between 3-5ppm using an API test kit. A friend lent me his Red Sea test kit that reads as high as .64 ppm and the reading was off the charts immediately.

How can I determine what is causing the high levels? I've tested my RODI water and salt water mix prior to adding to the tank and both have levels between 0 and .25ppm. I've heard the only true way to remove the phosphates is with a reactor, but I want to try and find the source before doing that. I feel I'd be fighting a losing battle if there is something causing them to be that high.

Thanks for your help,

Jason

Attachments

• 20150208_123452.jpg
    20150208_123452.jpg
    64.4 KB · Views: 289
  • 20150208_124342.jpg
    20150208_124342.jpg
    85.4 KB · Views: 281
  • 20150208_124349.jpg
    20150208_124349.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 290
  • 20150915_134611.jpg
    20150915_134611.jpg
    70 KB · Views: 283

bklynreef

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
83   0   0