russ1976

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First, thanks to all who respond to the questions on this site. I learn someting more each time I log in...

Total newbie here, well I did do Marnine "fish only" back the day when UG filters were the way to go... (yeah I'm old)

Kids are about gone, figured maybe I can steal a spot for a tank again! I have access to a 60 gallon with stand and UV strip light, heater, cannister filter; basically for free.

Unfortunately my $ are limited, and to save up to have all the toys at the start will take me a long time.

Is is reasonable to set up the 60 (after I build internal overflow, and drill appropriately) with a 4-6" sand/live sand base. At the same time add a modest amount of live rock. The let it run for, well, until I can save enough for good lights? I plan on putting a smaller tank in the stand for a sump, add skimmer there, etc... as finances allow.

I'm patient, so 6 months sans "reef" inhabitants is no problem. Eventually I would like a few Zoonthids, and maybe a couple colorfull LPS to go with a Dragonette, and maybe a dwarf angel of some type.

My real question is if "live rock" can survive/flourish without the high end lighting systems?

Thanks!!!

jrobbins

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
95   0   0
welcome to MR!

and yeah, the rock will be fine, but lots of the stuff that makes it live (and expensive) will probably not survive long term in really low light. if you are going to go that route, just buy some dry rock from marcorocks and save some cash...and you could use the cash you saved to buy a skimmer and ro unit from the get go ;)

Davidl919

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
20   0   0