JessTheTeacher

Teacher at Columbia Prep
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello to everyone!

I am a 3rd grade teacher at Columbia Grammar School in Manhattan. I have been refered here by my friend Phil (Rookie07), as I am looking into setting up a Fresh Water Tank in my classroom.

I do not know much about setting up & maintaining a tank, so I am here looking for help as Rookie07 said he was clueless with Fresh water.

I am looking to setup a 5 Gallon tank, but do not know where to begin aside from the 5 gallon tank.

This tank is in a classroom and will be unfed for a day here and their during vacations and weekends, but I am willing to take it home over the summer. So, any livestock must be hardy and easy to care for.

I plan to integrate the tank into my lesson plan for science, general life skill and how to care for other animals. The students will have some responsibility when it comes to feeding and cleaning the tank.

Any and all advice is appreciated.

Thank You All Very Much

Jessica
:spin:

Last edited:

skene

Winter. Time for Flakes..
Rating - 100%
240   0   0
I have done freshwater for years. I can only advise that you would be severely limited to the types of fish that you can keep within a 5 gal tank. You can probably best look towards neon tetras and probably some pygmy coris. Due to size constraints.

al0ha

The Inked Reefer
Rating - 100%
53   0   0
welcome, i'd say do at least do a 10 gallon. if u want i could donate a piece of malaysian driftwood to you too! cichlid tanks are nice but i think the kids would love a cherry shrimp tank, cute and eyecatching....you can easily achieve a sustainable population as they are very easy to breed and keep. also you can probably go for a while without major feeding.

Rating - 99.1%
225   2   0
If space is not a constraint, try to use at least a 10G for beginner. 5G and less will require more skills.