masterswimmer

Old School Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 99.6%
448   2   0
I've been running 6 x 54w T5's for two years now. At the beginning I only stocked my 75 with LPS, softies and zoos. I was fearful of any SPS or clams.

As my tank matured I began to get a little more brazen and tried an Acro Tort. It not only lived, but grew very fast. The only issue was color. It has a great blueish/purpleish/greenish color. I've seen others with frags of my colony where the color gets a deeper hue.

I then decided to try a Derasa. I figured a lower light clam up high would be a good start for me. The Derasa has been doing great. The only problem with it is that he rooted his foot and won't leave that spot. This is only a problem because as everyone knows, clams are best viewed from above. Unfortunately people don't get to appreciate this poor guys beauty.

I have since moved into a LOT of SPS and crocea's as well. Everything lives and grows. The issue I'm looking to address here is that my growing SPS do not color up the way others have in their tanks.

I had a repeat visitor here the other day. A young friend of mine, Aidan was here. Oh, he brought his father with him. Some of you might know him as house, lol. Once again, while looking at my tank, he mentioned how bright the PAR was. I kind of figured this was a good thing. Then I got to thinking that maybe my SPS do not color the way I want them to because the PAR is just too high.

After my friend and his father left, I decided to try a little experiment. I have had my T5's about 2" from the tank and about 3" - 3.5" from the water for 2 years. I raised the T5 hood to about 6" off the tank, 7" - 7.5" off the water.

Well lo and behold, after only a few days of this 'experiment', my SPS seem to be regaining their color. It has been much too short a time to say for sure that this is a successful test, but I am very encouraged by the results so far.