NYreefNoob

Skimmer Freak
Rating - 100%
166   0   0
OK i see alot of threads in regards to the use of bio-pellets. So i figured i would post my thoughts, opinions and usage of them, This is a imo thread, as i am not a scientist, but going from what i have seen from my usage, I am by no means a expert in chemistry either. OK now that's out of the way.

I have been using the pellets for 8 months or so now, I started with the vertex brand and got 500 ml of the pellets as well as the vertex uf-15 reactor. I never really had phosphate issue's or nitrate issue's. My reason for wanting to use them was i use to vodka dose and would miss a day here and there, plus wanting to cut out the use of phosban and carbon. Since day one when i started i stopped using phosban and carbon. I never got the bacterial bloom. { OK i did once when i started mixing vinegar with my kalkwasser and it caused a bloom from too much of a carbon source being dosed into the tank }. My tank water stays crystal clear and no algae issue's, i only need to clean my glass once a week or so.

In the amount thats recommended for usage is where my opinion comes in. i don't believe x amount for x amount of water volume is needed. i think more so the amount is determined by the amount of phos and trates you have. My reasoning for this is, your only putting so much flow through this reactor so tank size wouldn't matter in the amount of pellets used, but the levels your trying to reduce would matter, with only x amount of pellets the phos and trates will only be consumed at x rate. so for someone with a higher levels you might need more pellets, but do believe in only starting with the 500ml and raise the amount over a few weeks. don't think you would ever need to go beyond the 1000ml's.