• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

spaulr

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Since my stand is on hold I have a few questions about plumbing parts for closed loops so I can start spending all the money I don't have :lol: . I've pretty much decided on my pump-

Panworld 50px-x - 1100 gph. 1" intake/output

Looking at marinedepot's plumbing page there appears to be a bunch of different bulkheads to choose from. Since I've never done a closed loop before :D which type should I get - standard threaded, double threaded, double slip. Also, to add to the confusion, all those are also available in Normal or Heavy duty.

Question 2 - When websites say Size = 1" and Hole size = 1 3/4". Does this mean Size is the 1" inner diameter? And the drilled hole for the bulkhead to fit is 1 3/4"?

I think I'd like to use a 1 1/4" or 1 1/2" intake to get the least amount of restriction.

What do you think?

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey

Here ya go.

Slip bulkheads allow you to glue pvc pipe or fittings into them Threaded ones take threaded parts. I will never buy slip bulkheads for my display tank again. I have replaced them 2 times already because I keep changing the plumbing around. If I had used threaded I could unscrew stuff and not have to replace the bulkhead.

Heavy duty ones have more plastic so they are a bit stronger.

I used the light duty ones.

They also come in different colors. I recently ordered some from a company and thought they were black but they ended up being white.

The website will say a 1" bulkhead meaning it fits 1" fittings. The 1 3/4" is the size of hole you have to have drilled in the tank.

If your pump has a 1" inlet and its a really short run then you would be fine with a 1" bulkhead. If however you are running down to the basement and around corners and stuff then go up a size.

1 1/2 inch fittings are easier to get than 1 1/4 though.

Any more questions just ask.

Have fun!

spaulr

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%