• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

cbeitel

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Guys/Gals-

I'm new to the reef world and have gone all out with a 140 gallon built in. I'm working closely with the LFS, but could sure use some of the experience on this web site. I've gotten many ideas from the other threads. Here are some specs...

140g Ocean View RR 60x18x30
JBJ 1/4 chiller
48" Corallife combo (2mh 150w + 2 pc actinic 96w + 4 moon)
Pro Clear 150 skimmer

The plan is to widen the wall to 18". The tank will be a see though into the formal dinning area. My tank is on order with overflows being installed into the ends. I plan on framing this weekend. The stand is already built.

Comments?...

Attachments

• drywall removed sm.jpg
    drywall removed sm.jpg
    47.1 KB · Views: 6,422
  • back of wall sm.jpg
    back of wall sm.jpg
    34.1 KB · Views: 6,420
  • Outline for built in sm.jpg
    Outline for built in sm.jpg
    32.5 KB · Views: 6,424

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
:welcome:

Looks good so far. The lighting you choose won't allow for some of the higher light corals. 2 x 250W or even 400W would allow for more stocking flexibility. 150W will be fine for soft corals and LPS though. Also I would recommend you find some way to vent the chiller outdoors or have it plumbed outdoors or in the basement (they're noisy and produce a lot of heat).

cbeitel

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This was what I had against the wall. 55g Oscar tank. He's now in the entry way. I already miss walking by him, he can be very entertaining!

By the way, he's 11in long and 6 years old.

Attachments

• fish tank against wall sm.jpg
    fish tank against wall sm.jpg
    43.2 KB · Views: 6,413
A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's an interesting looking setup! Too bad it has an oscar in it. :P

Peace,

Chip

cbeitel

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0