• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

mgranato

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's my journey to put fish in the kitchen that weren't for eating :)

A brief history - I built our house about five years ago with the hopes of putting an aquarium in the foyer. Once things were built and we got settled, I realized just how little we would actually see and enjoy such an investment. So, we decided to get a couple of dogs and leave it at that. Five years past, and the fish bug bit again. We discussed placement and came up with the kitchen. The tank would replace a desk that was never used, and all plumbing would be run to the basement below.

Everything (display included) but a few pieces of equipment was made by yours truly. I make cabinetry and furniture for a living, so I've got way too many tools laying around. Some things were a little more difficult than others, but mostly it went pretty smooth. Sites like this were huge sources of knowledge and guidance. Thanks to all the posts and replys, you all helped.

Attachments

• IMG_0302.jpg
    IMG_0302.jpg
    29.2 KB · Views: 2,839
A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's a nice spot.

I think the kitchen is much better than the foyer. I had a foyer tank and you have to keep it pristine at all times because it is the first thing people see when they come in. Plus I ended up leaving a chair in front of it because I wanted to sit and watch the tank, so then there is a chair cluttering up the foyer.

mgranato

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's some more....

Attachments

• IMG_0356.jpg
    IMG_0356.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 2,740
  • IMG_0355.jpg
    IMG_0355.jpg
    28.8 KB · Views: 2,740
  • IMG_0354.jpg
    IMG_0354.jpg
    33.1 KB · Views: 2,744

Ben1

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I like the high wall outlet for your lights, may want to GFCI those outlets while you can

LA-Lawman

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
great progress!