• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

CG1

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am new to this web site (hi)

I have reef set up for a few years now and added a refugium in an attempt to do away with some hair algae that has been plaguing me form some time. I have not added anything to it except for sand, not sure what to add – that’s why I sought out this web site. My sand has turned all brown and the walls are beginning to turn brown plus the sand is starting to get all bubbly, kinda like the side of a glass filled with soda. My local fish store suggested that I run my lights 24/7, and that’s what I have been doing but now I am wondering if its too much light and the browning is caused by it. Should I kill the lights? I took a few snails from my tank and dropped them ontop the sand hoping that they may help to clean it up. Can some one guide me on what to do?

atnixon

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello CG1..

Are you using RO or RO/DI water in the tank? Normal tap water is a great cause of algae problems..What are your latest water test results?

I would of thought that having the lights blasting 24/7 would increase the algae, might be wrong on that one and am sure someone will chime in if i am..

HTH

Niko

CG1

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi - I use RO water. Right now the only this thats high are my phosphates - I had high(er) nitrates but after a few water changes and setting up this refugium my nitrates test at zero.

I have been scowering the internet and I have learned that the bloom in the refugium is normal and will clear relatively quickly. I have read a few differing opinions on the photo period, some saying 24/7 is the best way and other saying to run it reverse of the tank photo period. I'll wait to get some experianced opinions on the topic from this forum and see what I can agree with. Thanks for the response !

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
:welcome: