fransmom

Intermediate
Rating - 100%
32   0   0
getting a 29 gallon nano from some one down sizing, It will come with every thing, so i guess i will learn as i go. However i recently bought a 24 gallon nano from a member and have to start from scratch. Bear in mind that i am new to saltwater aquarium so i just wanted to get a quick crash course as to what i need as a must. I have a pump that comes with it and i know that i need mechanical and chemical filtration but how do you get a skimmer in a 24 gallon if they cant be submerged fully once it is covered? Also, if i have live rocks and sans which diminishes cycling time, what kind of corals and fish can i consider putting in that are hardy. I have the standard bulb that comes with JBJ nan cube mt 50. Also what type of fish to suggest , given i have 2 nanos? you guys seem to have a wealth of info, so i guess with your help this will be more of an enjoyable experience with less mistakes thus saving money.Thanks

E.intheC

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
150   0   0
Welcome to MR.

First, it's good that you're asking questions. However, please keep other people in mind when you're writing. Paragraphs help to separate ideas and questions. It's hard to follow when everything is mashed together.

that said.. Take your time. Having live sand and live rock in your tank does not diminish cycling. It might make the process go faster, but it really depends on how much die off there will be.

Regarding fish. A good starting point is on liveaquaria.com. They have both a beginners section and a nano fish section. Just read a bunch and get a nice list put together. Then come on here and ask. It's much better to ask before you buy. Don't necessarily rely on LFS for info, as many will only try to make a sale.

My last bit of advice for today.. Go slow and enjoy the ride!

fransmom

Intermediate
Rating - 100%
32   0   0