Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Guys,

Still new to the forum...just had a couple of questions. Ive read alot online about cycling my new 10 gal nano. I decided to go with just a live rock cycle. Tanks been going for about 5 days now. Ive been testing it daily and came across something interesting today... Over the past couple of days the ammonia has been steadily declining and is very close to 0ppm. But instead of a nitrite spike, im noticing my nitrites are still at 0ppm and my nitrates have gone up to 20ppm. There is some brown algae accumulating on the rocks and sand. Does this mean the rock was cured and the tank is cycled?

Im new at this and frankly dont wanna f**k it up/ hurt or kill anything in the tank.

I also have a come of snails that came as hitchhikers on the rock...they are doing fine roaming all over the tank

Please let me know what you guys think thanks.
-DIXON21

thirty6

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
229   0   0
Welcome

Where did you get the rock from? Was it in Someones system that you know/trust or lfs?
I would wait a few more days and test again. If snails came with rock leave em be but don't add anything else to the tank
Tell us about your system, what equip using ECt....

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome

Where did you get the rock from? Was it in Someones system that you know/trust or lfs?
I would wait a few more days and test again. If snails came with rock leave em be but don't add anything else to the tank
Tell us about your system, what equip using ECt....

The rock was from my LFS. I will leave the snails they seem to be loving the tank lol and heres a bit about the system..

10gal glass tank
1 koralia nano 240gph powerhead
aqueon HOB filer customized to hold 1/2 portion of chemi-pure elite and poly filter
50 watt ti heater
Marineland Reef Capabale LED fixture

albano

Saltwater since 1973
Staff member
Rating - 100%
129   0   0
lol anyway, i pulled the poly-filter pad out of the filter as it was covered in brown matter