Tangster

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i have just had an extreme hair algae outbreak and it is to the point where my corals are being constrained and not opening to their full extent. i need to figure out a way to stop the hair algae. i have been using RO/DI for about 2 months and nothing has changed. only curtain algae has died off like the brown dust like algae that is usually on the glass. i am using a canister filter, but will be upgrading to a new 90g tank within a month hopefully. the new setup will include a protein skimmer, and refugium. i also have a UV sterilizer that i have running off a powerhead just as a last ditch effort. i have no idea if it will change anything.
i am also now trying to figure out if i could kill off algae by just using white less 1200k or just my 460nm blue LEDs. will this do anything or do you have any better ideas. if not please give me ideas to ad to my new tank and hopefully never experience this problem again.

cmantis

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
103   0   0
When was the last time you cleaned the canister filter? That can become a nitrate factory if not done regularly. Also have you tested the TDS of the rodi water? Can you get a picture of the Alge it could be bryopsis and not gha.

marrone

The All Powerful OZ
Staff member
Rating - 98.8%
80   1   0
First, list what size tank you have and how long it's been running. Also are you running anything like a skimmer, refug or reactors. Then what are your levels, especially nitrates. Depending upon your setup and levels you may need to do large water changes and or run a reactors to help eliminate your phosphates.

Tangster

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
tank size-55G
nitrates-0 the algae is consuming it so it is unknown
ph-8.2
ammonia-0
nitrite-0