LadyR

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,
So i just brought home a 30 gallon tank. I didn't want to go to big because this is my first time. Are there any suggestions or tips that someone can give me on starting this tank correctly? I have read on this forum a lot that people started tanks and then restarted them and went bigger because they started their tanks wrong. I don't want to fall into that catagory. :) I don't have the money for all of that. :lol: Thanks!

Chiefmcfuz

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
47   0   0
Welcome to MR. First thing I can say is start reading the forums.

Second, make sure you get all of the equipment you could possibly need for your setup first. Don't be cheap as it will cost you more in the long run because you will have to buy good equipment to replace the stuff you are replacing and you won't get near what you paid for it.

Second, set the tank up and make sure it is level. Decide wethere you want sand or bare bottom. Get your substrate and rock and put your rock in first. Once you have your rock in put your sand in and your water.

Start the water circulating and throw in a pinch of fish food. Get some good test kits and wait for your cycle to finish. It should take a few weeks, after that you can start to add a cllean up crew and livestock. When you add anything live add things slowly and make sure that they are goping to fit when fully grown.

I know I am forgetting stuff but there is alot here. Good luck and feel free to ask any questions you need answered.

masterswimmer

Old School Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 99.6%
448   2   0
Welcome to MR. As chief said, do a lot of reading first. You'll wind up saving a boatload of money buying once instead of twice (sometimes three times :banghead: ).

The members here are great with answering questions. Opinions will vary and remember, there is more than one way to do things right in this hobby. Learn the basics and you'll be able to determine what is best for you.