Copepods eat zoathids? - Reefs.com

Home  / Forums  / Global Forums  / Reefs for Beginners  /  Copepods eat zoathids?
Reply
Quang's Avatar
Quang is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,043
Copepods eat zoathids?
02-04-2006, 06:10 PM
  #1  
Was wondering if copepods eat zoanthids...I've heard rumors. Check out this fella running circles around one of the polyps.
These copepods are like 1cm big at times and every once in a while I see their molten shell floating around....ARGHHH
If they do eat zoanthids...what can I do about it?
Attached Thumbnails
 
 
noodleman's Avatar
noodleman is online now
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,490
02-04-2006, 06:12 PM
  #2  
never had troubles with my pods eating my zoos. You can always get a small fish or something to eat them up
 
Quang's Avatar
Quang is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,043
02-04-2006, 06:13 PM
  #3  
That's the thing noodle...my tank is a 6.6g and I have a purple firefish in there. I dont think I can support another fish.
 
Quang's Avatar
Quang is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,043
02-04-2006, 06:14 PM
  #4  
Look at some of the polyps on the right...it looks like the skirt as been eaten away. Look at the polyp the pod's clinging to...looks like the skirt's fone from that one too.
 
noodleman's Avatar
noodleman is online now
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,490
02-04-2006, 06:15 PM
  #5  
dont think you should worry about it, never heard of zoo eating pods maybe they just annoying them too much by running on them. And geez i wish i had some pods, my fish ate them all up
 
noodleman's Avatar
noodleman is online now
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,490
02-04-2006, 06:16 PM
  #6  
hmm those zoos do look kinda werid
 
Quang's Avatar
Quang is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,043
02-04-2006, 06:30 PM
  #7  
omg check out how big this guy is....
Attached Thumbnails
 
 
fritz's Avatar
fritz is offline
OG of this here reef game
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,569
Where did these come from
02-04-2006, 06:50 PM
  #8  
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggiebunbun
omg check out how big this guy is....
I had these guys in my tank as well! I got a six line wrasse and everyone seems to be doing better now. Since you don't have that option I'd recomened a dip or two.
 
Quang's Avatar
Quang is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,043
02-04-2006, 06:58 PM
  #9  
I don't know about the dip...the rock the zoa's are on is pretty big fritz...about 5-6" across and high. Plus, my rocks are so porous, these buggers hid everywhere. I hate these copepods even though everyone thinks they're so beneficial. I think I might just get a six-line. But two fish in a 6.6g tank?...sigh. Thats a total of 4 inches of fish in there (for now...more iwhen they get bigger)....thats about 1.25 inch a gallon, which is a no-no. But...I promise I'll change my water twice a week if need be...I don't know...arghhh
 
Tonyscoots84's Avatar
Tonyscoots84 is offline
REEF ON!
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,508
02-04-2006, 07:50 PM
  #10  
yea too many fishes.. i agree with ya....
__________________




200DD Upgrade


RIP Frank (FRY). You will be missed.
 

Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes