fishfreak1242

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 90%
18   2   0
I am just starting out with SPS. I started with a green monti cap which was growing well so I decided to get a few more and now I have a blue tip mille, a purple nana and a bali green slimer. I do have one question though, is it bad if the corals touch each other? I just want to make sure that I don't kill my coral over something stupid like that. Thanks.
-Julien

Simon Garratt

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In most cases mixing species will result in one coral over powering the other, by one coral literally trying to digest the other. If it cant digest it, then it will simply try outgrowing and smothering the opposition. In some cases you can mix certain members of the same family together with little aggression, IE one coral will simply grow around the other and both will form a sort of tolerance for the other, although long term one may still start to shade out the other if it grows faster. I have a Montipora hirsuta and M.Undata growing together with minimal aggression as well as 3 differing colour morphs of M.capricornis all growing together. whilst there isn't any visible 'damage' caused to any particular colony in these cases, there is definitely some degree of inhibition that goes on at the boarders, so even members of the same species with differing colouration may show some degree of semi intolerance on occasions.

In most cases Ive seen its usually Montiporas that can be mixed, and occasionally differing colour morphs of A.millipora whist there are very few cases Ive seen where vastly differing Acroporas such as A.tenuis, and A.loripes can be left to grow near each other. What seems a common case ime is that those species with larger polyps tend to have a stronger stinging capacity and intolerance for other species, over those with smaller polyps.