rlm

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all - I just setup a new Fluval Edge 12 Gallon with Salwater 3 days ago. I plan to add more lighting to the tank in the future. I am new to the saltwater world. 3 days ago I added 10lbs of live sand, a heater and set temp to 78, premixed saltwater from PetCo and 9lbs live rock. The live rock came from my local LFS that was cured, but does not have Coraline Algae on it. My LFS sold me a pair of B-Ionic Buffer System bottles to give to the Live Rock daily. I've been adding 3ml a day of each bottle. Am I going to the right way of helping my Live Rock grow coralline algae? I was also thinking of buy a live rock with coralline algae already to help the process as well?

I tested the water yesterday with my Test kit and Amonia level was 0, Nitrate and Nitrite was normal. PH was at 8.0. Am I testing to early? I read somewhere that the amonia level can go up eventually and come back down to 0 if everything is going well. I don't have any livestock in the tank. I want to add a cleaning crew eventually. How long should I wait for that?

Also I notice a small green plant on the back side of the plant, see pic number 3. Can anyway let me know what this is?

I plan to add a nano circulation pump 425gph today to help remove some of the sand from the live rock. any tips or ideas? thanks.

aznt1217

Forever Noob
Rating - 100%
191   0   0
The plant looks like leftover Chaeto.

You're worrying too much. Don't dose anything in the tank. Coralline will develop as the tank ages. You need a little more live rock than that...

You may be testing too early. Add more rock, chill out, and give it some time. Test like 1-2 weeks in. Nitrate, Nitrite, and Ammonia should be 0 once it's cycled. If there's nitrate, that's fine just do a water change after.

Watch out for salt creep getting on the stock light. Clean up crew is fine half week into the cycle. Don't go nuts.

rlm

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The plant looks like leftover Chaeto.