Oddomatic

Reef Enthusiast
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all. I'm new to the reefing scene, so any help from you guys would be much appreciated! I am going to be setting up a new 28 gallon nano reef in the coming months and I was just wondering if some of the veterans out there can give me some pointers / tips when choosing my layout and building the overall centerpiece structure in my tank. I plan to use either Fiji or Atlantic live rock and will be using live sand as well. I want a lot of caves and crevices for good water flow and am going to try to center the rock pieces in the tank, rather than just build a wall against the rear panel. Thanks for your help!

Juggernot55

Renegade Reefer
Rating - 100%
216   0   0
If you plan on keeping coral you should drill 3/8 or 1/2" holes in the rock it helps when placing frags. I personally like natural stacking. I dont like using epoxy or glue, theres no one using epoxy to stack in the ocean. Plus it helps when you wanna pull a rock out to frag something. Just my $.02

Rating - 100%
87   0   0
If you don't have a personal vision just search photos on the net and find things that you like and just replicate.

Like you already mentioned, keep rocks off the wall and make sure you have good flow.

I always like to play around and try to create depth. i can draw or email you some rock formations if you like.

Try to get something you like before introducing livestock. Many people build a scape, add livestock and continuously have there hands in the tank changing things. [thats what i did when i started] The less your in the tank - The better.

Since this is a new setup and you seem new ill give you a little advice i wish i received.